Birthdays are for reflecting…

6 Oct

Birthdays bring about reflection.  They are a natural time to look back over the past year.  To count blessings, to applaud accomplishments, to plan and set goals for the future.  Sometimes though we count more of what we didn’t do, or what we missed; we succumb to the thoughts of how much less time we have left to fit it all in.  Life that is.  We wonder if we did enough, if what we did counted, blah, blah, blah.  This birthday though is about all the right things.  It’s all about celebration, milestones, and achievements.  It’s about looking back and realizing how much joy has been packed into one quickly passing year.  This birthday is my daughter Quinn’s.  She is one year old today; and all of the reflection…well, it’s sweet.

Here are a couple pictures from one year ago…

 

Joe in love with his new daughter...an all time favorite of mine.

 

And here is Quinn now…

 

She's so soft spoken.

 

 

um...not sure how this was captured, haha!

 

 

That's a LOT of tulle for one little girl!

 

(Okay, these pics were taken by my friend Kim while she was visiting….duh.)

In the last year life has changed vastly.  Like most moms, I do more laundry than before, sleep less than before (despite going to bed earlier), and obsess about things like diaper absorbency, missed naptimes, and when my child will develop a fondness for the word “no”.  I worry about things I never could have imagined…color of diaper stool anyone (ewwww)??  And I rejoice in things I never could have imagined…yes, my daughter has mastered the pincer grasp.  But, like all moms, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

As I reflect on the past year there is so much that comes to mind.  I adored the moment my parents first held Quinn.  I adored when she started sleeping in 5 hour stretches at night almost as much.  I delighted in saying “my daughter” the first hundred or so times.  I delighted in her saying “mama” even more.  I was thrilled when her first tooth came in (why, I don’t know).  And I was even more thrilled when she started crawling.  Each day has brought new abilities, new exploration, and new joy.  And that is just how it should be.  I need to remember that when my birthday rolls around!

I love you Quinn!!

3 Responses to “Birthdays are for reflecting…”

  1. Helen Gummersbach October 7, 2010 at 2:39 am #

    This is beautiful, Rachael. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Danielle October 7, 2010 at 2:45 am #

    Well put Rachael! And I love the pics! Thanks so much for sharing!! Happy birthday Quinnie!!

  3. Heather October 7, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    So cute! I love all the pics. She is absolutely adorable. I can’t wait to give her a big hug and kiss next time I see her!!!

Leave a Reply

