Visiting Mainz

11 Oct

Seeing as we are still on a quest to find a place to permanently settle into, that and our social calendars aren’t exactly brimming full these days; we decided to spend yesterday in Mainz.  The city actually has a pretty interesting history which I won’t go into too much detail about.  I mean you people know how to use google if you are that interested right?  I’d rather not risk boring you to death.  But, I will say it is one of the three oldest cities in Germany and much of its inner city was destroyed by bombing during World War II.  It is an interesting mix of old and new.  There are still several historical sites and buildings in tact, but obviously much has been rebuilt as well.  We drove around to get a sense of it all and enjoy some of the scenery.  (As a side note, the leaves are changing here much like in Ohio this time of year so the foliage is quite beautiful right now.)  Anyway, after driving around a bit we got out and walked around the pedestrian market square area.  It was Sunday so all the shops were closed but many of the little cafes and restaurants were open and there were still lots of people milling about.  Which brings me to another side note- patios are open (and full) even in quite chilly weather.  Yesterday was beautiful and very sunny, but very cool.  I wished I had a jacket over my sweater and still lots of people sat outside to have their lunch, coffee etc.  Here are a few pics from yesterday:

*Warning- you are about to be subjected to my crappy (mediocre at best) photography.  After the pictures Kim took of the sites these will pale in comparison.  But, what’s a person to do??*

 

Hmmm a bit cut off, but this is St. Martin's Cathedral

 

 

Near the city center, you can see the cathedral in the background

 

 

part of the Mainz theater

 

 

People eating outdoors in the market square

 

 

More outdoor dining

 

 

Pedestrian market square

 

 

small church I liked

 

This city is located along the west bank of the Rhine river.  It was absolutely beautiful driving along the edge of the water.  I wish I would have taken some pictures of that!  There were also lots of little streets with shops etc. that I failed to capture.  We will just have to go back again!

4 Responses to “Visiting Mainz”

  1. Helen Gummersbach October 11, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Thanks Rach, I’m so glad you are doing this for us. How else would we ever see Mainz, or any part of all your travels? I look forward to your blogs, and comments. Please keep them coming. Helen

  2. Shannon October 11, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    The eat outside in Feb!! When I lived in France all the cafes still had the outside eating. They just put up thin plastic to bare from the elements and some heaters. Two necessary things when living in Europe are a good pair of gloves and even better scarf.

    • Rachael October 12, 2010 at 6:30 am #

      Shannon, when did you live in France?! Did you study abroad?

      • Shannon October 20, 2010 at 12:47 am #

        Yeah, I studied in Paris and was there from Jan-July of 2003. I loved it! Let me know if you travel there and I will give you some good ideas of what to do and what not to waste your time on….Also, if you go to Rome, Florence, most of Southern Ireland, and Amsterdam. (which is so much more than a “coffee shop” town and an easy train from you)

Leave a Reply

