Hallo, ich bin Rachael.

21 Oct

Our first German lesson was tonight.  And after two hours I learned how to say “I am Rachael”.  Promising, I know.  So yeah, this foreign language thing is hard!  I am dreaming about my high school Spanish class.  Even my college Spanish class with the Venezuelan professor who wouldn’t speak ANY English.  At all.  Ever.  Those would be a breeze compared to being in these German lessons.  I mean they have syllables we just aren’t capable of pronouncing.  Or at least, I am not capable of pronouncing.  At one point I was trying to pronounce “er”  which to me sounded like “air”.  My instructor and I went back and forth several times and basically I think he gave up.  Next time I should seriously video record the lesson.  I would probably benefit from being able to replay it and you all would have laughs for days.  Seriously, it’s that ridiculous.

Clearly, I need to study.  Help.

2 Responses to “Hallo, ich bin Rachael.”

  1. mary October 22, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    Maybe you need to find old SNL videos of “Sprockets”. Mike Myers will be sure to help you with the “Cherman” accent. OH JA!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Change is a comin’… « The Gummersbach Family Blog - September 13, 2011

    […] site.  So now you need to check it out!  If you want to still read about what cities we see, what German words we butcher, and what toys Quinn is throwing in the toilet this week…you’ll have to subscribe over […]

Leave a Reply

