Sporty Spice goes to the zoo

16 Nov

This weekend we took Quinn to the Frankfurt zoo!  Our German instructor was nice enough to offer to meet us there and teach us what some of the different animals were called.  Once again we tackled the train system to get there, which felt awesome.  And I should also mention that the weather was amazing.  For a November fall day, we couldn’t have asked for more.  All around a great day!

The word zoo is spelled the same in German, however it is not pronounced the same.  Here is how I think of saying the word- Pretend you’re sneezing except instead of saying Ah-choo, say Ah-ts00!  Or you could just think of the breed of dogs called Shih Tzu.  Or you could just not think of it at all since you don’t live in Germany and the zoo is just the zoo where you are.  Even better.

Anyway, here are some pictures from our day at the Tsoo.  Or the Zoo.  Whatever.

 

Laid back. With my mind on money and my money on my mind. (Just kidding- that probably means nothing to most of you)

Peekaboo Goat

Whatcha got, whatcha got??!

Side note- While we were watching the goats and the people feeding them there were two goats that started to fight a little bit.  Nothing major, just a couple interlocking horns and a little pushing.  You know, a little squabble to let each other know they were irritating the other one.  My guess is it was over the food being handed out on the other side of the fence.  Anyway, a couple small kids observed this and  pointed to show their mom what was happening.  Our German instructor translated her response for us: “What?  You kids fight like that too.”  Ah, some things are the same everywhere.

 

Giraffes. Again spelled the same but pronounced differently. I think it's like gear-affa.

Still cute no matter how you pronounce it.

Daddy and Quinn watching the gear-affa.

I personally have never seen this donkey/ zebra hybrid.

Apparently it comes from Africa and is called an okapi. I like donkey /zebra hybrid better.

I swear she's having fun.

Seehund pronounced kind of like zee-hoondt (but you have to emphasize the "ndt"...very important)

Uh-oh, one of the animals escaped!

Vogel equals bird...can't get more specific than that though

Mom and Quinnie by the vogels (if that's how you even make it plural)

Quit looking at me. Hmph.

I didn’t get the actual word for baboon.  Just affe for ape or monkey.  Close enough I suppose since I am probably at maximum capacity already for new words/ language.  General terms are just fine right now.  It’s not like I’m enrolling in zoological studies at Goethe University.  Affe works for me.

These little guys were rough-housing and it was so cute! Wish I had taken better pictures to capture it.

No Lions or Tigers or Bears on this visit.  We will have to go back.  To the Tsoo!

7 Responses to “Sporty Spice goes to the zoo”

  1. jen November 16, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    You’re so funny, Rachael! I love reading your comments!

    • Rachael November 16, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

      Ha! thanks Jen 🙂 Not sure if I’m that funny or just bored, haha.

  2. mary November 16, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Sippin’ on Gin and Juice (referring to the first photo!)

    • Rachael November 16, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

      I just CAN’T say “laaaid back” without thinking of the follow up from that song.

  3. Helen November 17, 2010 at 1:04 am #

    Rachael, This was great! Not only hilarious, but interesting. You do such a good job!! Keep them coming, hon.

  4. Sara November 25, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    Love the zoo pics. I want to see some pictures of local color – shops, streets etc.

  5. Sara November 25, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    OMG does your daughter have Uggs on???

Leave a Reply

