Hopelessly Devoted to You…

17 Nov

I need to just carry a camera with me at all times.  I know, I know if I had a cell phone with me I would also have  a camera if the need really arose.  But, I was on a walk with Quinn and, well, I didn’t have either one with me.  As they say a picture is worth a thousand words.  In this case though I would need video because there was sound involved in this story too.  Anyway, let me just get down to the business of sharing my story.

You know the stereotypes of Germans.  Right?  Cool, standoffish, formal, serious, maybe even a bit stiff??  (I know stereotypes are BAD and I DON’T think Germans are all this way, BUT for the sake of my story let’s just pretend this is the case).  Well I was out for a walk with Quinn just strolling through our neighborhood.  As I approached an intersection I paused thinking about which way I wanted to go and as I neared the crosswalk I heard music coming from a car.  It was actually pretty loud and it was actually coming from a large white van.  I instantly recognized the music and I’m sure you’ve guessed that it was “Hopelessly Devoted to You” from the Grease soundtrack.  Further inspection of the van from which the music was coming revealed that the driver was a MAN.  A good sized, German, manual labor doing sort of guy.  He looked (again with the stereotypes I know) like he carried heavy things and worked outside a lot and ate lots of meat.  He did NOT look like he would have Olivia Newton-John blaring from his car.  I am serious when I tell you I started to laugh out loud when I looked over and saw who was getting down to Grease.  I mean this guy was lovin’ this song.  Really lovin’ this song.

Please don’t be offended by my generalizations here.  But, this was too funny not to share.  At least it was to me.  Which might not be saying much.  Aw, anyways- I think you all know how to interpret this story and will see the humor in it that I did.  Right??

2 Responses to “Hopelessly Devoted to You…”

  1. Katie Day November 17, 2010 at 7:49 pm #

    I would have laughed outloud too!

  2. sara January 5, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    I would have LOVED to see your video! I have been wantin to make one of the boys. I should do that – this winter.

Leave a Reply

