Giving Thanks…clearing out the clutter.

28 Nov

I’m a tad late with this….I mean Thanksgiving was three days ago.  But, let’s view this as the season for Thanksgiving and then I’m good to go right?

This year I had a lot to think about when it came to giving thanks.  That’s not to say I don’t think about this regularly- I do. I try to stay in the moment and remain grateful for the many (MANY) blessings in my life.  But, like most people, I sometimes lose sight of all that I have.  Despite my best efforts I sometimes forget that I am SO fortunate.  It is easy to get caught up in life and see it as a perpetual “to do” list with a tendency to always think about what’s happening next.  While doing that sometimes we (okay, I) miss the beauty of all that we have right now.

This year I have, as always, a lot to be thankful for.  What I don’t have is a lot of the clutter that sometimes gets in the way of seeing the things that matter most; you know the stuff that takes up space in our daily life that we almost don’t know is even there.  It’s sort of like when you finally get around to straightening that one room that collects all the junk etc.  Eventually you can actually “see” what you’ve got instead of just the pile of things to go through…the “to do” list.  And the things that are still remaining once you’ve cleaned up are things you really want.  What’s even better is suddenly you can see how much you like those things you can now see.  Like finding a favorite shirt, or a picture you always loved but had forgotten you had.

Right now I don’t have a lot of the fluff.  The stuff that takes up space and gets in the way of what matters most.  And I’m thankful for that.  It’s allowing me to really see what I do have…and with deeper appreciation.  My room (figuratively speaking) is pretty clean right now.  And I am really grateful for everything and everyone in it.

 

One Response to “Giving Thanks…clearing out the clutter.”

  1. Valarie November 29, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    What a great analogy, Rachael! Hope you are doing great and hope to catch up SOON!!!

Leave a Reply

