Creating a monster…

9 Dec

One of the things Joe and I started doing to distract Quinn when she wants something she can’t have or just needs to be kept entertained for a minute to regroup and hopefully sidestep a potential meltdown, is showing her pictures/videos on the computer.  Initially it started out as showing her the montage I made for her first birthday because all of our family is in it and we could point out grandparents, aunts/uncles, and cousins.  With the creation of the “Elf Yourself” video I made of Quinn recently, that has now made it into the rotation as well.  And, I think girlfriend likes seeing herself.  Since Quinn can’t quite say “Indulge my narcissistic side Mommy and play my elf video”, she frequently comes over to the computer area and grunts and nods toward the computer.  And like the good parents we are…we obey.

Man, I love myself.

I look suh-weet.

2 Responses to “Creating a monster…”

  1. jen December 9, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    I have a home video of Emma when she wasn’t even two yet, playing a computer game. It’s hilarious….she was navigating that mouse like she’d been computer-literate for years! Once they get bitten by the computer bug (no pun intended), it’s hard to get them off!

    • Rachael December 9, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

      I know! I don’t want to be starting a bad habit, but sometimes you just do whatever works for the moment.

Leave a Reply

