Happy New Year!!

4 Jan

Well, it’s 2011.  That is almost unbelievable.  We are back “home” in Frankfurt after a wonderful (although too short for our tastes) visit home to see our families.  I have pictures to post and stories to tell but it will all have to wait just a bit.  For now, I just want to say Happy New Year and that I hope everyone’s holidays were as wonderful as ours were.  Both Joe and I are extremely blessed with amazing families, and getting to see everyone after being over here for the past few months was about as good as it gets.  We truly treasured every moment.

As I mentioned already, there is much to catch you all up on.  But, for now here are just a few highlights from the past couple weeks and our time at home in the States (in no particular order):

  • Quinnie Pot Pie took her first steps (homegirl does things her way…she has been teasing us with this for months)
  • A few AMAZING dinners.  This might sound trivial but it definitely goes in the “highlight” category.  We were spoiled to several homecooked meals (thank you Dad, Helen and Kroll family!) in both Columbus and St. Louis and we were also able to knock out the Chipotle hankering that has been looming over us since September.  Sweet.
  • I was able to enjoy a delicious honeycrisp apple (thanks Jeana!!)
  • Quinnifer (for those of you that don’t know…her name has spawned MANY nicknames) sat on Santa’s lap for the first time.  She was pretty lukewarm about the whole thing.
  • I was able to see a few of my close friends.  It wasn’t for long enough and I didn’t see most people I would have liked but I really relished in my time with the friends who were able to stop by in Columbus.
  • Birthday pedicure- I mean really, no further explanation needed.
  • Good ole fashioned family time.  Since that was the basis of our trip it may seem weird to consider it a “highlight” of our visit but this was the best part of it all.  Lots of laughter and love…

I’m afraid it’s almost 3am here and I am in the wicked world of jet lag.  Quinn’s clock is completely screwed up at the moment as well so Joe and I are completely at her mercy in terms of sleep.  She is finally resting again and so I too will try to get some shut eye before the next round of ” but I’m still on Central time Mom.”  Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

