Home…soon to be sweet home

1 Mar

Okay friends, many of you have been curious about our new place.  Due to our prolonged time without internet I found myself very behind on uploading photos.  I found some pictures I took right before moving in that I can share with you.  Nothing fancy, but at least you will get a sense for where we are.  We are so NOT organized here yet.  The rooms still need pictures hung and decorations put in place to make it feel really cozy and homey.  But, we have reached a point of basic functionality which is good for now.  It looks pretty boring in these photos (because the place is empty) but we are gradually transforming it into our little Gummersbach oasis!

Some things I love about the place:

  • So much natural light!  You won’t be able to tell in these pictures because it was already getting dark outside, but the sun just beams throughout the place.
  • Lovely wooden floors.
  • A finished guest suite in the basement….hint, hint visitors.
  • A garden- yes, it’s small and no, I don’t really “garden” persay…but I love having at least some outdoor space to use.
  • Steps away from the train and a very quick walk from all the daily necessities and shops.

Some things about the place that I am still getting used to:

  • Microscopic cozy kitchen.
  • Stairs everywhere.  I personally don’t mind going up and down, but with Quinn here the place has practically been transformed into our own mini Alcatraz.
  • Overall less space.  This is fine but it creates a challenge when arranging the furniture we already owned.

Conclusion- We like it here and are happy with our choice!

part of the entry way...the kitchen is on the right

living and dining space

When the dishwasher and oven are both open they greet each other.

Wintergarten as it's called here; looks rather dreary but it's actually quite lovely.

Every parent of an adventurous toddler's nightmare.

part of guest bedroom

one of the two second floor bedrooms

third floor loft/studio space

more loft

So, let me ask- how long did it take YOU to really be settled into your last place?  I go back and forth between feeling really impatient to have the place fixed up and “perfect” (which will never happen) and having a more realistic attitude about it all.  Isn’t there a version of Mary Poppins for this sort of thing, you know a song that could magically put my house together?!

 

 

6 Responses to “Home…soon to be sweet home”

  1. Valarie March 1, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    Wow, it looks awesome Rachael! Really nice and modern. Very different from Ohio houses, haha!

    • Rachael March 1, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

      Thanks Val! It has been updated fairly recently so that was a huge plus…nothing too terribly tacky and offensive to contend with for the next few years.

  2. Danielle March 2, 2011 at 4:23 am #

    The house looks cute Rachael! I’m so glad that you’re getting closer to feeling like home.

  3. jen March 2, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    due to my limited master bedroom closet space, i still have all my shorts in the box i moved them in and we have been here 16 years. dont feel bad!!

  4. Kristin Nilsen March 28, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    Wow – this sounds so familiar! I’m from your BYW class and saw your recent post about swapping so checked in. And, coincidentally, my blog has some of the very same themes! We recently moved to the east coast from the midwest with our 8 year old son (it’s not moving to Europe but it’s a much bigger transition than I expected!). So it only makes sense that we would swap!
    And I LOVE your template – I wish I were that blog-savvy.
    Good luck to you! I’ll look forward to checking in on you! ~Kristin Nilsen

    • Rachael March 29, 2011 at 8:02 am #

      Thanks Kristin! I am going to check out your blog too. Moving anywhere is tough! I’m interested to read about your experiences with it as well!

Leave a Reply

