To market to market…

6 Mar

To buy a fat hog.  Just kidding.  NO hogs were purchased.  We did however take a lovely walk through town yesterday which included going to the local outdoor market.  On Saturdays there is a small market set up in town with lots of different produce and fresh meats and cheeses available.  There are also flowers, unique spices, and lots of baked goods as well.

The weather yesterday was cool but gorgeous.  Since everything is closed on Sundays it seems like EVERYONE is out on Saturdays doing their shopping for the weekend.  The town was buzzing with activity.  We took a stroll, stopping at the market (eating a few pastries) and just enjoying the sunshine.

A couple buildings alongside the market square.

Market Square

I love all the fresh produce.

spices galore

Tulips!

Here is some more of our walk through town:

There are so many cute little side streets.

The sky is almost the same color as the blue building!

Notice the large pretzel sign on the right.

Love the festive pendant banner!

The main pedestrian zone...bustling.

I love the street musicians. This accordion player is out about once a week!

 

 

6 Responses to “To market to market…”

  1. Katie Day March 7, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    I love the tulips!!!

  2. Rachael March 9, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    I know! It’s pretty much impossible to resist buying them from those cute little stands. I have some in my kitchen right now that I’ve had for a week; almost time for some new ones!

  3. Zach April 5, 2011 at 12:25 am #

    I found your blog while surfing the internet for Oberursel. My wife, 3 year old son and I are moving to Oberursel. My wife got a job working at Frankfurt International School. Is there anything that you could tell us that you had wished someone told you before your move? Any advise would be much appreciated.

    Thanks

    Great pics!

    • Rachael April 5, 2011 at 6:33 am #

      Zach you are in for quite an adventure, haha! Geez, I think there is lots I wish I’d known. But, you also figure stuff out on the fly too. Mostly I just wanted to know it was going to be okay. That we would meet people, and settle into “normal” life. My starting point advice: Take German! Even though lots of people speak English it will help so much to know at least some basics. Where are you moving from? Feel free to email me! (contact info is under About page) I can give you more information/ ideas that way. I would have LOVED to have known another American living nearby when I was moving, so I am more than willing to tell you guys more about our experiences and help in any way I can. Are you and your wife nervous? Excited? I can so relate to it all!

  4. Kate Coveny Hood April 5, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    I LOVE these pictures. What a fabulous place to live. I’m feeling very jealous here in Norther VA which is lovely but…

    Oh – and I found you through BYW. Finally making my way through the participant list.

    Looking forward to reading more your adventure in Germany.

    • Rachael April 5, 2011 at 6:49 am #

      Thanks Kate!! I am loving living in Oberursel too, but I still miss “home”. Always a trade-off…but we are enjoying exploring our new surroundings for sure!

      I will check out your blog as well. I definitely didn’t get through the list either and am really enjoying discovering new people and the things they write about 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

