We’re in kilograms and centimeters baby!

29 Mar

“How will I find a pediatrician?!?”  These were some of the first words I uttered after learning about our relocation to Germany.  At the time we first heard the news  Quinn was just a young infant.  The pediatrician is an instrumental character in your life at that point.  I think every (well, almost) new parent, even the non-worriers, takes comfort in the proximity and accessibility of a trusted pediatrician.  The same was true for me.  Quinn was a SUPER healthy baby.  I mean, I don’t want to jinx anything, but the girl has had like zero illness.  No ear infections, no major colds…really nothing.  But, still- knowing her doctor was just a phone call or quick drive away felt good.  The thing is, I’m not sure I knew how good it felt until it became a luxury I didn’t have.

Relocating and having to tackle finding a doctor was one of the challenges I was most concerned by.  It can be difficult enough in the States.  But throw in elements like a different language and a different health care system, and you have a much more intimidating task.  I wanted to wait until we were living in our “permanent” home so that I could choose a doctor that was fairly close.  Since moving in January the “doctor thing” has been hanging over my head.  Well, no more!

Last week we took Quinn to her first doctor’s appointment in Germany.  And it went very well.  I found an English-speaking doctor within walking distance from our house.  Quinn almost seemed to enjoy her doctor’s visit.  Is that a little weird?  The doctor was very friendly and Quinn didn’t seem to mind at all as she poked around to check her out.  Then it was time for what all parents dread…shots.  Not even a whimper.  I kid you not.  NO tears and really no acting bothered by it at all.  What a champ!

Oh, and for the record- she weighs 10.5 kg and is 78 cm tall.

Phew…glad to have that out of the way!

One Response to “We’re in kilograms and centimeters baby!”

  1. stephanie April 3, 2011 at 4:31 am #

    Quinn is darling! Thanks for commenting today, now I am able to view your blog and follow your life story. I can’t wait to learn more about life with a baby … in Germany! I hope you are having a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

