My buddy and me

4 Apr

Today was gray.  And rainy.  And difficult to keep Quinn happy;  you know, we couldn’t take 45 walks to see the dogs and the birds and “talk” to strangers.  Injustice.

The weather lately has been mostly spring-like in all the good ways: warm(ish), sunny, and seemingly full of promise as blooms make their way out of hiding.  But in good ‘ole Mother Nature fashion the rain, chilly air, and cloudy skies reared their ugly heads making sure we knew the fight for nice weather wasn’t over yet.  And then a break.  Just after dinner the sun came out to play, pushing the clouds away and once again taking it’s reign in the sky.

I jumped on the chance to get Quinn outside for a bit.  She loves walking through town, laughing at other kids, barking (yes, sometimes it’s worrisome) at dogs, waving and blowing kisses at complete strangers, and just observing her surroundings.

My buddy and me

Here we are enjoying the spring evening.  I’m no photographer.  And this was only taken on my iphone.  But I love it.  My buddy and me, my little shadow.  The nice break in weather afforded me this sweet little moment, because like all moms, I know soon enough I will be “out” of the picture.  But for now…she is still my little girl, my little shadow.

 

10 Responses to “My buddy and me”

  1. eliza keating April 4, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    this is a brilliant photo..there’s just something magical about it Eliza

  2. Rachael April 4, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

    Thanks! I must say I was quite happy with it too. Definitely unintentional, but one I am glad to have 🙂

  3. jen April 5, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    That makes me feel sad because Ethan just turned 10 and Matthew will be leaving for college soon. I miss having my “four little shadows” who aren’t little anymore.

    • Rachael April 5, 2011 at 5:31 am #

      Awww. Didn’t mean to be a downer! I just had that moment of realizing the time will fly and she won’t be right next to me anymore. I just want to soak up right now, which is what you’ve done all along!

  4. Stacey April 5, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    LOVE this picture Rachael!

  5. Kristin Nilsen April 5, 2011 at 4:45 pm #

    Very sweet.

  6. Angela Steyn April 6, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    Rachel, I’m feeling your pain today! It is wet here too and little Leo is suffering from cabin fever badly! He also loves wandering the streets, talking to the birds and strange people!

    Angela x

  7. Danielle April 6, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    This brought tears to my eyes! It’s sooo true! Time flies too fast, it’s bittersweet.

    • Rachael April 7, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      Every day seems to go faster doesn’t it?!

  8. Helen April 12, 2011 at 2:12 am #

    O, Rachael, How sweet, and how very true!!

Leave a Reply

