It gets me every time…

23 May

I’ve gotten used to lots of things over here.  And I don’t mean “Oh, feel sorry for me.  It’s been such an adjustment”…blah, blah, blah.  No, just literally, you adjust because you have to.  Life goes on.  You figure things out, you do things a new way, and pretty soon you forget how it used to be.  For example, grocery shopping is a completely different experience over here.  Shopping several times a week, taking my own bags, and usually just walking to and from the store has become the norm.  I barely remember the huge, weekly (sometimes less often) trips to the store, leaving with an overflowing shopping cart, only to come home and spend what seemed like ages putting it all away (in our 2 FULL size refrigerator/freezers).

But there are just some things I can’t get used to.  And this is one of them:

cluck, cluck

Finding feathers in my eggs just creeps me the creep out.  Ewwww.  Why?!  Never until I lived here did  Big Bird come home with me in my carton of eggs.  NEVER.  This is not the first (or second, or third) time that I’ve been able to trace the lineage of my breakfast just by the contents of the container it came in.  No, unfortunately, the incredible, edible egg often comes with a “full history” here, which I personally just don’t need.  I like in the back of my mind knowing “oh, yeah, eggs come from chickens”…not getting HIT IN YOUR FACE with “some chicken (whose feather lays here for proof) just laid this egg you’re about to eat”.

I know I am a bit squeamish about my food and it’s appearance and all…aaaaannd, I know that eggs do come directly from chickens.  And if I were on a farm collecting eggs, I’m sure there would be feathers.  BUT, since I go to the store and not the farm- is it too much to ask to get only the eggs?

What do you guys think?  Not that big of a deal?  Or super-duper gross?

6 Responses to “It gets me every time…”

  1. Danielle May 23, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    Yeah, that would gross me out as well, so I don’t blame you. The best is buying an organic whole chicken from Heinen’s and it still has feathers on it, and the skin feels all prickly, EWW!! I find your new lifestyle to be more laid-back, is that so? Also very healthy. I, too, make more frequent trips to the store for produce. It’s better for our bodies that way.

    • Rachael May 23, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      Danielle, I have had that chicken experience…at Heinen’s too!! Ewwww is right. Yes, I agree though that shopping more often and buying lots of fresh foods is healthier. That part I like a lot. For the most part, people here just don’t “stock up”…they shop frequently. I am getting used to it and enjoying it. Most of their foods here don’t have the super long shelf life either…they are made to be purchased often- which is good. Not so many preservatives.

  2. Joanne May 24, 2011 at 4:05 am #

    I love reading your blogs. You are a riot,I’d love to be at a party with you. ( I am joe’s cousin Joanne ) yes it is sorta gross, but being a nurse- nothing grosses me out, but I’d rather not have feathers with my eggs either

    • Rachael May 24, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

      Hi Joanne 🙂 I am sure we would get along great! The thing is LOTS of stuff doesn’t gross me out. I can handle blood, bugs, spiders etc etc. But, when it comes to food, I tend to be particularly squeamish. And the feathers just gross me out! Thanks for reading. Perhaps we’ll get to meet in person sometime!

  3. Heather May 24, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    Okay. I was laughing when I saw this, but also being a little squeamish about food, I don’t think I would ever be able to eat eggs for the remaining time in Germany! Cluck Cluck!!

  4. stephanie June 8, 2011 at 3:36 am #

    gross city!!! I’m on your side on this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

